top of page

Talking Tech

Today I'm going to talk technology. Technology is huge in today's society, and because we are teaching students to be successful members of society, the need for technology integration is growing. However, integrating technology and utilizing technology resources in the classroom can be tricky sometimes, especially when you are still trying to figure out what kinds of technology to use. So for today's post I am going to share some of the unique technology resources I have learned about in my Educational Media course.

SAMR Model

First, I think it is important to look at the levels of technology integration. Dr. Ruben Puentedura invented the SAMR model to describe the ways in which technology is used to transform the learning process. There are four levels, as indicated by the name, Substitution, Augmentation, Modification, and Redefinition.

Here is another graphic representation for all of you coffee lovers:

The first image above gives a brief definition of what each level means and also provides questions teachers can ask to determine which level their technology use falls. Puentedura refers to his model as a natural progression. Every level of technology use is beneficial to students, but the further along the progression you go, the most meaningful that use of technology is.

Here is an example of how a lesson can be transformed using the SAMR model:

Now I know what you're thinking... The Redefinition level is hard to reach, and I agree. In fact, I took time to reflect on my use of technology throughout my program studies, and student teaching experiences.

Overall, my recent uses of technology in education have been on the enhancement level, substitution and augmentation. I have a lot of experience with technology and am working on thinking of ways to incorporate it in the classroom, but my knowledge is still surface level on how to really transform my teaching with technology. Puentedura’s comment about the natural progression of technology integration stood out to me. He explained that the SAMR model is a natural progression teachers experience as they begin to incorporate technology. I love the idea of doing something that was previously not possible with the technology, but I also realize that for this to happen I need to feel more comfortable with substituting and augmenting activities using technology. Because I am not currently teaching and am working on completing my masters, this is a great time to become more comfortable with technology so when I have a classroom of my own I can start transforming the way I teach.

So now let's take a look at some technology resources that can be incorporated in the classroom, and also try and peg what level the technology use is on the SAMR model.

The first neat resource that I have learned about is Symbaloo. Symbaloo is a visual bookmarking tool that teachers can use to create their own spread of usable links. Have you ever used Chrome Books or desktop computers as a center in the classroom? The students always love it, but it takes some prep for the teacher, and if you teach primary grades, typing the website links takes half of centers for some of those sweet babies who are just learning their letters and how to type. Symbaloo is such a neat tool because teachers can create visual bookmarks that lead students to learning links and apps right away. If a Symbaloo page is set as a home page students can easily access the learning links you have planned, making this kind of technology integration more efficient. On the SAMR model Symbaloo is used more as a tool for integration so I would say it falls under either Substitution or Augmentation.

I have created my own example Symbaloo page and a Jing video that gives you a short tour!

Seesaw is a digital portfolio tool that I am still exploring. I practiced using it by setting up an example teacher account, but without students it is hard to experience the full capabilities of the tool. Teachers can post assignments and students can submit entries on individualized accounts. This program is a great way for students to learn how to use technology and develop digital citizenship simultaneously. In addition, what student doesn’t love using the iPads in the classroom? I think that this tool would be great to implement from the beginning of the school year. It is a great way to keep portfolios of student work and if you start the year teaching students how to use it you will be able to do more involved projects later on.

Check out this video to see the app in action!

While exploring the app and creating my sample class I thought of two different ways I could apply this in my classroom, both intended for primary grade levels. First, Seesaw is a great tool to use for centers in the classroom and would hold students accountable for center work. Each center in the room can have a “folder” and as the student completes his or her center work they can take a picture of it and upload it to the Seesaw folder. This allows teachers to observe how the students are doing on their center work without having to be looking over their shoulders at all times. The teacher could hold a reading small group while other students work at centers, but it still keeps the teacher connected to what the whole class is doing. Second, I think using the video feature is a great tool for developing mathematical reasoning in primary students. Kids love to take videos and in Seesaw there is an option to upload videos. The students can solve math problems and take videos of themselves solving it to share their reasoning. The teacher can then use these student examples during class to highlight student work and share strategies with classmates that might be useful in helping them understand.

Using Seesaw as a way for students to develop portfolios and present their work takes this technology tool to a modification or redefinition level on the SAMR model. The possibilities are really endless! Seesaw also has a Facebook page community where teachers can share their lesson ideas and tips they've learned since integrating Seesaw in their classroom.

 

I want to hear from you! Have you used either of these resources in your classroom? What did you love about them? What other tools have you integrated into your classroom? I would love to hear from other teachers!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

WILL WORK for

Apples

bottom of page